Sundarwati Mahila Mahavidyalaya

Bhagalpur (Bihar)

About College

S.M.College, Bhagalpur, is a foremost institution of fame and repute. It holds a prominent position in the field of higher education for women in Bihar. The sapling which was planted in the premises of Mokshada Girls School, Bhagalpur by Dr. Sharda Vedalankar on 15th of August, 1949, has now blossomed into a premier Women’s College of T. M. Bhagalpur University, Bhagalpur and has celebrated its golden jubilee in 1999. In 2004 the College has been Accredited by NAAC team and graded as B+. It has already made a niche in women’s education and is forging ahead from multiple successes. (NAAC certificate attached).

S.M.College is famous for quality education and unblemished conduct of examinations and good results. Over Seven Thousand students study in different faculties of Art s, Science, Commerce and various U.G.C. Sponsored Vocational Courses like Computer Applications, Office Management & Secretarial Practice, Functional Hindi and Simple Spoken Sanskrit, right from intermediate to graduate level. Recently under Bihar Entrepreneurship Development Programme N.T.T., Food Preservation and Food Processing, Health and Hygiene, Beautician Course, Arts and Craft Courses have also been introduced. There are altogether twenty three disciplines under which students are being trained by a band of dedicated teachers of the college. Post Graduate teaching both in Arts and Science faculties was done from year 1985 to the session 1997-1999. However it was closed by the order of the Government of the Bihar in the year 2000. The college has eight hostels, which provide accommodation to more than a thousand students. Thanks to Bihar Government, a separate hostel for Post Graduate students named after the founder Principal also came into being. It houses more than a hundred students. The Welfare Hostel of the college has three buildings which accommodate about two hundred and fifty students. Recently a new hostel building has been constructed and inaugurated. Several steps have been taken to renovate the dilapidated condition of some of the hostel buildings. The college has also a health centre and a canteen, which cater to the needs of staff and students of the college.

The college can boast of high standard of teaching, the credit of which goes to its devoted teachers. Ninety per cent of its teachers have got Doctorate degree. They are constantly engaged in research activities and project works. This college has been contributing both to academics as well as extra-curricular activities. It has a long glorious history of producing brilliant debaters, who represented the college at national level and brought laurels to the college. Its students have also been participating in Youth Festivals and winning distinctions. The college has very good arrangement both for N.C.C. and N.S.S. and Sports activity

Name of the PrincipalsDuration
01. Dr. Sharda Vedalankar13-08-1949 To October,1992
02. Smt. Laxmi SinhaOctober,1992 To August,1995
03. Sharda VedalankarAugust,1995 To 20-08-1975
04. Smt. Kalyani Bose21-08-1975 To 25-04-1976
05. Smt. Grace Prasad26-04-1976 To 11-05-1978
06. Dr. Anandita Mukherjee12-05-1978 To 28-09-1978
07. Dr. Sharda Vedalankar29-09-1978 To 28-02-1981
08. Dr. Anandita Mukherjee01-03-1981 To 15-02-1993
09. Dr. Madhuri Sinha15-02-1993 To 21-01-1996
10. Meena Rani22-01-1996 To 19-07-2002
11. Dr. Sneh Prabha Jha22-07-2002 To 19-08-2002
12. Dr. Poonam Pandey20-08-2002 To 24-09-2003
13. Dr. Azra Wali25-09-2003 To 22-10-2003
  14. Dr. Ahilya Devi23-10-2003 To 15-06-2004
  15. Dr. Nisha Rai15-06-2004 To 03-11-2008
  16. Dr. Usha Puri04-11-2008 To 30-11-2008
  17. Dr. Ram Dayal Singh01-12-2008 To 28.02.2010
  18. Dr. Usha Puri01.03.2010 To 07.08.2010
  19. Dr. Nisha Rai07.08.2010 To 10.06.2013
  20. Dr. Sheela Saha11.06.2013 To 30.09.2013
  21. Dr. Usha Kumari01-10-2013   To 31.10.2014
  22. Prof.(Dr.) Meena Rani01-11-2014 To 31-12-2016
  23. Prof.(Dr.) Anubha Rai01-01-2017 To 31-07-2017
  24. Prof.(Dr.) Archana Thakur01-08-2017 To 30-06-2020
  25. Prof.(Dr.) Raman Sinha30-06-2020 To 28-02-2023
26. Dr. Mukesh Kumar Singh01-03-2023  To  Till Now